Panaji: Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar on Thursday won the trust vote in the Goa assembly, with 22 MLAs supporting his government. The Congress got the support of 16 legislators.

Parrikar, whose BJP heads a coalition government with a slim majority, was sworn in as Chief Minister of the coastal state for the fourth time on Tuesday.

Parrikar, who is not a legislator and is a Rajya Sabha member, moved a one-line motion of confidence, after which pro-tem Speaker Sidharth Kunkolienkar asked those in favour of the motion to stand up.

The 22 MLAs who supported the motion those of the Bharatiya Janata Party (minus the pro-tem Speaker), three each of Goa Forward and MGP, three Independents and Nationalist Congress Party MLA Churchill Alemao.

Congress MLA Vishajit Rane, who over the last few days had been accusing the Congress leadership of squandering away chances of forming a government in the state, was not present during the voting.

Rane later told reporters outside the assembly complex that he was not happy with the functioning of the Congress and would be quitting it soon.

"I have been complaining about the functioning of the Congress. No one is paying attention. I will be quitting the party soon," Rane said.

Join the conversation
  • The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Click here to review our Terms of Use.